March Review

smalltownmonthrev

After a late start to blogging and lots of coursework deadlines in the beginning of March I got some lovely nights in the last week to sit on my couch and read some good books.

Read This Month

       

  • Where the Road Takes Me by Jay McLean (see my book review here)
  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski (review coming soon)
  • The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski (review coming soon)

   

  • Matilda by Roald Dahl (see my book review here)
  • Animal Farm by George Orwell (read my semi book review/ discussion here)

New Books

  • Letters to the Lost by Iona Grey- Late on a frozen February evening, a young woman is running through the streets of London. Having fled from her abusive boyfriend and with nowhere to go, Jess stumbles onto a forgotten lane where a small, clearly unlived in old house offers her best chance of shelter for the night. The next morning, a mysterious letter arrives and when she can’t help but open it, she finds herself drawn inexorably into the story of two lovers from another time.

    In London 1942, Stella meets Dan, a US airman, quite by accident, but there is no denying the impossible, unstoppable love that draws them together. Dan is a B-17 pilot flying his bomber into Europe from a British airbase; his odds of survival at one in five. The odds are stacked against the pair; the one thing they hold onto is the letters they write to each other. Fate is unkind and they are separated by decades and continents. In the present, Jess becomes determined to find out what happened to them. Her hope—inspired by a love so powerful it spans a lifetime—will lead her to find a startling redemption in her own life in a powerfully moving novel perfect for fans of Sarah Jio and Kate Morton

    I have an eARC that hopefully by the time this is posted I will be half way through and loving it! It looks like an amazing read and will probably be one of my favourites of the year.

Still Reading

      

  • The Raven’s Head by Karen Maitland
  • Voyager by Diana Gabaldon
  • Letters to the Lost by Iona Grey
  • Tape by Steve Camden

Other Posts This Month

Challenge Updates

British Book Challenge 2015 | Matilda by Roald Dahl | Tape by Steven Camden

Popsugar’s Reading Challenge 2015 | Matilda by Roald Dahl– a book from my childhood |


What about all of you? Leave me a link to a post you loved writing this month or your March review!

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “March Review

  1. I’m laughing at you getting notifications for this while doing that test and wanting to throw your phone anyway – it’s a great post! I really like the layout of it and the content of course! So so happy you read Where The Road Takes Me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s