March Update

smalltownmonthrev

Life in March

Yes it has been roughly a month since I last did a blog post, no I didn’t just disappear it was just that dreaded thing called coursework.

Every semester I promise myself I will do better, I will write my essays and reports long before they are due not still finishing them at 10.00 o’clock the night before they are due which is exactly what happened. So from now on let’s all just assume that March and November are months that I will probably be hibernating. Yeah? But now the majority of my coursework is done, my essays have been handed in, my reports have been finished and my group presentations have been presented (So scary!).

Books in March

There isn’t many days left in the month but I still think I can squeeze quite a few more reads in which means lots of reviews and bookish thoughts to come! Here’s my hopeful reads for the month:

 Tape by Steve Camden | Record a voice and it lasts forever…

In 1993, Ryan records a diary on an old tape. He talks about his mother’s death, about his dreams, about his love for a new girl at school who doesn’t even know he exists.
In 2013, Ameliah moves in with her grandmother after her parents die. There, she finds a tape in the spare room. A tape with a boy’s voice on it – a voice she can’t quite hear, but which seems to be speaking to her.
Ryan and Ameliah are connected by more than just a tape.
This is their story

The Raven’s Head by Karen Maitland | Vincent is anapprentice librarian who stumbles upon a secret powerful enough to destroy his master. With the foolish arrogance of youth, he attempts blackmail but the attempt fails and Vincent finds himself on the run and in possession of an intricately carved silver raven’s head.

Any attempt to sell the head fails … until Vincent tries to palm it off on the intimidating Lord Sylvain – unbeknown to Vincent, a powerful Alchemist with an all-consuming quest. Once more Vincent’s life is in danger because Sylvain and his neighbours, the menacing White Canons, consider him a predestined sacrifice in their shocking experiment.

The A to Z of You and Me by James Hannah | A striking literary debut of love and mortality perfect for fans of quirky, heart-wrenching fiction like Nathan Filer, David Nicholls and Rachel Joyce.

Ivo fell for her.
He fell for a girl he can’t get back.
Now he’s hoping for something.
While he waits he plays a game:
He chooses a body part and tells us its link to the past he threw away.
He tells us the story of how she found him, and how he lost her.
But he doesn’t have long.
And he still has one thing left to do …

Where You End by Anna Pellicioli | Miriam Feldman was always attracted to the artists, the musicians, the boys who wore broken-down cardigans. Boys like Elliot. Their relationship was intense, passionate, all consuming. When they were together, Miriam knew who she was, in the way you can only know when you’re deeply in love. But then it ended, and Miriam had to move on. Even after Elliot started seeing someone else. Even after she impulsively destroyed a priceless work of art. Even after she was blackmailed by the mystery girl who saw her do it. After all this, Miriam had to go on with her life. If only she knew how.

The Forgiveness Project by Marina Cantacuzino | Thought-provoking and powerful real life stories from survivors and perpetrators of crime and violence around the world are collected here from a diverse range of situations. They raise the possibility of alternatives to resentment, retaliation and revenge, with each story showing the very real impact of forgiveness within a particular context.

There are a few others I have waiting around on shelves but we will see how long we have left.

Blog Updates 

After nearly a month away from my blog I came back, took one look at my layout and went …nah maybe not. I decided a change was needed and went for one of the newer themes called Sela and I absolutely LOVE IT. It’s more minimalist than my last one and I think it works well with the types of posts I make.

Lastly, as well as not being able to post I haven’t been able to read anybody else’s blog posts therefore I would love it if you all shared the link with me to a particular post you have written in the last month that you loved or one you think would be a great read.

3 thoughts on “March Update

Leave a Reply

