As Good as it Gets? by Fiona Gibson | Book Review

  A warm, funny read for fans of Outnumbered and the novels of Fern Britton, Fiona writes about life as it really is.
“Midlife crisis? WHAT midlife crisis?!”
Charlotte Bristow is worried about her husband Will. With her 16-year-old daughter Rosie newly signed to a top modelling agency, and Will recently out of a job, things are changing in their household.
As Will dusts down his old leather trousers and starts partying with their new, fun neighbours, Charlotte begins to wonder what on earth is going on.
So when Fraser, Charlotte’s ex – and father of Rosie – suddenly arrives back on the scene, she starts to imagine what might have been…

  • Recommendation Level: 5 moons
  • How Did I get it? I received an eARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

What I think

“He’s a nice guy” she says lightly, “but he’s not you, is he? I mean, I’ll never know him like I know you.”

There are millions of books in the world filled with mysteries and plot twists, supernatural and magical beings, dystopian and historical worlds but one thing that always makes a book a best seller is its story of family.

Fiona Gibson is a well loved British author who has written so many wonderful books that are so lifelike and believable people cannot help but relate to the characters and keep on coming back for more. Her newest book As Good as it Gets will be released on the 26th February this year and is essentially  at its heart about family and all the struggles that entail.

I don’t know quite how to explain this book without giving away spoilers but I will tell you all just how much I loved reading this! After all the YA I have read, the science fiction books, the fantasy and dystopian trilogies, every now and again one ordinary/ extraordinary women’s fiction book tends to hit me out of nowhere and make me fall in love all over again with reading when it proves that you don’t need all the fancy plot twists and mystery and suspense. Sometimes the best story is simply life. The story of an ordinary families struggles as they all reach different paths in their lives

I wasn’t expecting the book to go the way it did, I had a picture in my head of what would happen and then it didn’t, this for me just added to my love of this book as it wasn’t predictable and instead was a great page-turner that I think is perfect for that rainy afternoon sitting on the couch with a nice warm drink.


British Reading Challenge 2015 | February book 2 | British book total for 2015- 3

Leave a Reply

