Friday Bookish Update

I  know, I know I am supposed to do this update on Thursdays but I didn’t get home till late last night from Uni and I literally just sat and watched Grey’s Anatomy for about 4 hours straight. Have any of you seen this show? I know I’m late to the party but I’m on season 7 and speeding my way through the series with my mum 🙂 Anyway on with this weeks update!

Currently Reading

greek mths# Tales of Greek mythology have entertained countless generations of young readers with their accounts of brave heroes and heroines and the marvels and monsters that they encounter. This edition of Greek Myths: A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys features six classic tales written especially for children by Nathaniel Hawthorne. It includes the legends of Pandora and the Box of Troubles, King Midas and the Golden Touch, Perseus and the Medusa, Philemon and Baucis, Bellerophon and Pegasus, and the labors of Hercules, all illustrated magnificently in color by Walter Crane. (as seen on BarnesandNobles.com)

Still reading this but I’m nearly done. It’s a nice little read after a day of chasing buses across the towns and cities.

katherine Katherine V thought boys were gross
Katherine X just wanted to be friends
Katherine XVIII dumped him in an e-mail
K-19 broke his heart
When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact. 

On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself. (as seen on Goodreads)

This is one of the books that Kayleigh @ Miserable & Magical let me borrow (Go check out her blog if you haven’t it’s awesome!) Haven’t read very much of it yet but it looks amazing so hopefully I will have read it by Monday 🙂

New Books

Everybody out there that uses NetGalley you know how sometimes you request a lot, and I mean A LOT  of books in the hopes that at least  one of the requests will be granted and you will have a new fantastic book to review? I did that and then I got one accepted. And then another. And another. And another. So many books! Kayleigh made a joke that all I will be doing is reading. Whether it’s Uni books or reading books- my nose is never going to be far away from one. And I believe her.  I also got Auto-approved by Little Tiger Press as well (thank you!). They are an independent children’s publisher and their children’s books- for ages up to teens look very interesting and fun to read- look  Description from their website…

With four imprints under one roof – each with its own unique style and distinctive voice – Little Tiger Press is a dynamic and busy independent publisher.                                                We’ve been publishing high quality children’s books for over 25 years, seeking out the best fresh talent in writing and illustration to bring stories to life for our readers.

littletigerpressWhen a raven drops a white feather at the doorstep on the day of your birth, it is a symbol of your destiny. You are a Whisperer – a guardian of the wild.Many years have passed since the people of Meridina last knew war, but a shadow has settled over the kingdom. When Alice and her companion, Storm, sense a demonic presence in the forests, they send for help. But they’re running out of time. With the entire balance of the natural world at stake, will Alice and Storm have to face the demons alone?A dramatic and fast-paced new series, perfect for fans Michelle Paver, Gill Lewis and the Warrior series. (as seen on the publishers website)

A Whisper of Wolves by Kris Humphrey is one of Little Tiger Press’s publications being released in March 2015 and it looks like a lovely adventure read.

a to z  Ivo was once a young man living a carefree life. Now he is middle-aged with a failing body and a head full of regrets, resident in St Leonard’s Hospice.

Ivo’s dedicated nurse Sheila suggests a game, the ‘A to Z’, to occupy and encourage him. Eager for distraction, Ivo begins listing his body parts alphabetically, associating a memory with each. The results are a kaleidoscopic chain of recollections, which together unravel the story of Ivo’s life; of the girl who tried to help him, and the friend who wouldn’t let her (as seen on Goodreads)

Also being released in March 2015 I am very excited to start this one and I really think it could be one of the biggest successful books this year!

forgiveness  Thought-provoking and powerful real life stories from survivors and perpetrators of crime and violence around the world are collected here from a diverse range of situations. They raise the possibility of alternatives to resentment, retaliation and revenge, with each story showing the very real impact of forgiveness within a particular context.

This one really appealed to the future psychologist in me. I cannot wait to read this book!

winners  This is the second book in the The Winner’s Trilogy and for those who haven’t read the first I won’t put the synopsis here but this sequel looks spectacular!

Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge-

pride and pred  rebel  deciation  starst  deepest

British Reading Challenge 2015- Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen | Book Review

I have only read and reviewed one book by a British Author so far but I sorted out my books by British Authors this week and am ready to get down to business and read.

What are you all reading this week? Any new books?

5 thoughts on “Friday Bookish Update

  1. I just reread Pride and Prejudice and I have made a review about it if you like to see.
    Anyway, as a Greek person I know all the tales and I’m really hoping that you’ll enjoy them too and this book as well. Have a great reading xx

  2. Well currently I received a free copy of a book called shimmer (although 2nd in a series it’s pretty easy to follow). So far it has caught my Interest and the plot sounds intriguing. Haha I know what you mean when you get approved on Netgalley. The sad part us when they will only accept requests from the UK or Canada but they have their reasons! Oooo getting auto-approved..how exciting!

    1. Sounds interesting 🙂 I will look out for your review! NetGalley is one of my favourite finds after creating this blog, I know what you mean! But I am the opposite, sometimes amazing books are only open in other countries such as America yep they have their reasons but it sucks for the rest of us 😦 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

