Pride and Prejudice Jane Austen | Book Review

pride and pred

Goodreads

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues.

********************

As much as I love books. Classics and I have a complicated relationship. Meaning next to nonexistent. I can count on one hand the few classics I have successfully read. Although I have tried many but by around chapter 8 I normally lose interest and then end up switching back to YA books.

But this year that’s changing! Thanks to my lovely family I received some very beautiful Barnes & Nobles Leather Bound Books for Christmas and they are all classics (obviously) so here is to a new era in my reading habits!

First book of the year and also first classic of the year is Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I’ll be honest my main reason for reading this one was curiosity. I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. And I saw it! It was a very enjoyable read. I expected it to be a stuffy book but it was funny, really funny. The comedic aspect to the story-line really enhanced the read and made it a great first book of the year to get me into a reading mood. Not my favourite classic book ( I think that  will always be Jane Eyre),  but my first completed Jane Austen book (woohoo!)  though as I sadly gave up on Mansfield Park.

Hearing for years the praises of Mr Darcy  was also one reason  for reading Pride and Prejudice, and although he did not make my list of fictional boyfriends. I though he was alright. More realistically thoughI loved the “banter” between Elizabeth and Mr Darcy. Their…catfights, i’ll say… were for me the highlight of the novel. Any interaction between the two was brilliant and lovable, dramatic and sometimes downright hysterical.

I could talk endlessly about how much I loved Elizabeth as a main character but I’ll stick with one word for now. Epic.

Along with some… annoying, rude, ridiculous… minor characters Austen’s novel is a fun and interesting read and a great place to start for all those who are like me and wanting to read more classics but at the same time not really bothered and have no clue where to start.


2015 Reading Challenge | Book 1 | Read a classic romance

British Reading Challenge 2015 | Book 1 |January


P.s If I have used any Scottish slang anywhere on my blog and in my posts and you have no idea what I mean, just leave a comment below 🙂 I try not to but sometimes the words just sneak in /slip in.

5 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice Jane Austen | Book Review

  1. She is one of my favourite characters too.I did like him, he was one of the reasons I enjoyed the book so much. But he just was not one of my all time favourite fictional guys. His bickering with Elizabeth were some of the highlights for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

