The Theory of Everything Film Review

Theory_of_Everything

Based on the memoir Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen  by Jane Hawking The Theory of Everything is the breathtaking biopic tale of Stephen and Jane Hawking on their journey through life. If you haven’t heard the story of these amazing people or of this spectacular movie then please take some time and go see it.

Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones star in Focus Features beautiful and heartbreaking biopic. The casting of these two actors was the best decision anyone’s ever made in my opinion. It must be terrifying to play a role of someone that they know will someday watch it but they embodied their roles and showed the world the hardships, loyalty and love that Stephen and Jane Hawkins experienced.

“He  [Stephen Hawking’s] gave Eddie the enormous compliment of saying ‘I thought it was me on screen,'” said director James Marsh. “That tells you a lot about Eddie’s performance. It passed the biggest test.” (x)

To receive praise like that is special indeed and I 100% agree when  watching this movie there were moments in which I couldn’t tell the difference and genuinely thought I was watching Stephen Hawking. Eddy Redmayne underwent months of research and training to be able to play his role, so much so I think someone said he bent his spine in the process and in my opinion if he (and felicity) don’t win Oscars for this performance there is something wrong with the Academy, it is by far the best film of the year.

Academy Award winning director James Marsh ( who I think also deserves another Oscar) helped this biopic be spectacular through telling the tale by centering on the Hawking’s love story and their journey rather than Stephen Hawking’s achievements. This was a brilliant take and allowed the audiences to really feel this couples story.

Jóhann Jóhannsson created one of the most beautiful scores I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. It really added to the movie and gave me shivers, here’s one of my favourite songs from the score…

8 thoughts on “The Theory of Everything Film Review

  1. I was lucky enough to see this at the Toronto International Film Festival back in September and I knew as soon as I saw it that Redmayne’s performance was something super special. I can’t wait for award season to kick of on Sunday with the Globes to see any indication who the Oscar can go to because the Best Actor category is so stacked with good performances this year!

    1. It is a really close call with winners this year, there are a lot of really good performances such as Benedict Cumberbatch in the Imitation Game I just hope that Redmayne gets some recognition. I heard he just got nominated for a BAFTA as well as the Globes, exciting awards season ahead!

      1. I have and it was one of the best films I have seen in a long time! It’s good to know that people as inportant as Hawking and Turing are being portrayed so well 😊

      2. Yes! I love the biopics that have been released this year, they are all really great and I think it will be a tough call at the Award shows this season as everyone was amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

