Top Ten Tuesdays: 10 books that were hard for me to read

Top Ten Tuesdays are a weekly feature hosted by The Broke And The Bookish. Each week bloggers answer a top ten books question and this week is 10 books that were hard for me to read.

top ten

10 Books that were hard for me to read

One// Maze Runner by James Dashner – I was in such a  stump reading this one, took me around 3 weeks to get into it, I think the movie will be one of those rare occasions where I like it more than the book.

Two// The Fault In Our Stars by John Green- No need to go into detail here we all know why it took me two goes to read this one.

Three// Barely Breathing by Rebecca Donovan – I wanted so much  to love this book but it just kept going downhill and I had to force myself to finish.

Four//The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald- This one was quite strange for me and the only real reason I finished it was because me and my friend were in a challenge.

Five// Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare- **Sob**

Six// The Hobbit by J.RR. Tolkin- Don’t get me started on this one, we just didn’t work out.

Seven// Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer – During my “Twilight” phase which happened before the first movie actually, now that i think about it, I read all the books in less than a week, but the last one, jeesh I just didn’t get it.

Eight// Kissed By An Anger by Elizabeth Chandler- I loved the concept of this, the plot, characters and storyline. For some reason though I just was in a slump reading it though, weird.

Nine//Before I go to sleep by S.J. Watson- My thoughts on this went something like Yawn, Yawn, Yawn, Holly, what the hell!

Ten// Game of Thrones by George R.R.Martin- Don’t get me wrong I love the series A Song Of Ice and Fire but because the books are told in several characters p.o.vs everytime I got to a character I didn’t like it took me a while to get through their chapter. I ended up skipping Catelyn Starks altogether after a while, not one of my favourite characters.

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: 10 books that were hard for me to read

  1. You and I both, on some of them! I just didn’t get Breaking Dawn either – what a terrible book. The Great Gatsby was also an issue – it took me so long to finish it and, like you, the only reason I finished it was because I was reading it with my friends. And I haven’t read A Game of Thrones yet (I plan to starting November), but I can imagine it’ll be a struggle as well.
    Great list!

  2. The Fault in Our Stars made my list too! I just couldn’t get over the ending. I also have a Cassandra Clare book on my top ten, but it’s in the Mortal Instruments series. On another matter, I’m a little nervous after reading this list, because The Maze Runner is a top on my TBR.:)

Leave a Reply

