Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini- Book Review

starcrossed

Amazon     Goodreads

Destiny brought them together.

The gods will keep them apart.

When shy, awkward Helen Hamilton meets Lucas Delos for the first time, she thinks two things: the first, that he is the most ridiculously beautiful boy she has seen in her life; the second, that she wants to kill him with her bare hands.
An ancient curse means Lucas and Helen are destined to loathe one another. But sometimes love is stronger than hate, and not even the gods themselves can prevent what will happen next…

*********************************

Published: June 2011

Pages: 518 pages

Publisher: MacMillan Childrens Books

Format: Paperback- Bought

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mythology, Fiction

Recommendation Level: 3.5/5

Book Hangover Level: 3/6

*********************************

Starcrossed is the first book in the Awakening and I’ll admit I bought this book as an accident thinking it was another one, Oops and I will also admit that I have a little bit of an obsession with Greek Mythology- books, movies, stories, I just love them. So even though I was disappointed in my stupidity at the mention of modern day Greek mythology I was all in and decided to give it a read right away.

This book is an enjoyable read. I would specify that by saying the perfect time to read this is either after a long day and your reading to unwind or on a nice day off when you are relaxing and don’t want to get to worked up over a book. There were moments when I was like oooookkkkaaaaayyyyyy….. The book is not perfect but the humour makes up for it, I was in tears at some points in laughter- it was a bit predictable, you can pretty much guess where the book is heading after the first few chapters but that was part of the fun! I had to keep reading to a) see that I was right and b) because if I was right (which I was) it’s an amazing story line (which it was!)

Here are some quotes that made me laugh:

“After I pushed you off the roof…” she began.
“After you WHAT?” 

“You’ve got the killer instincts of a houseplant”

You and I are way to fabulous to be ordinary.”

“She decided that if Lucas was gay then she was going to have to get a sex change operation. He would be so worth it.” – Oh and I’m definetly adding Lucas to my fav list 🙂

7 thoughts on “Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini- Book Review

  1. Hmm. I think I’ve heard about this book before, but it had a vastly different cover. It was about Greek mythology, too, though, although I think it had elements of Hades and Persephone in it. Maybe I’m just going insane.

    What other book did you think you were getting with this one, btw? And are you eventually going to track it down, haha?

    1. There are several covers this is just the version that I bought 🙂 The book I thought it was, was Star-crossed by Francis Kelly- that has Greek mythology elements as well I think, maybe that’s what you thought It was? I will get there eventually I have a very big TBR pile and coincidentally I’m reading a book called Hades at the moment 🙂

      1. I really liked the first one, I’m hoping I like the second one. Recently I have had a bit if a slump with the second book in a series- every one I read leaves me feeling disappointed. Hoping I’ll find one that doesn’t 🙂

Leave a Reply

