The Amazing Story of Adolphus Tips by Michael Morpurgo- Book Review

tasoat

Amazon      Goodreads

Set against the backdrop of the Second World War, this story is about lifelong friendship and one adventurous cat! It’s 1943, apart from her father being away, Lily Tregenze’s life is scarcely touched by the war. Until one day, Lily and her family, along with 3000 other villagers, are told to move out of their homes.

*********************************

Pages- 192

Format- Paperback

Publisher- Harper Collins

Published- 2005

Genre- Childrens, Historical Fiction, Animals

Recommendation Level-4.5/5

Book Hangover Level- 4.5/6

*******************************

What I Thought

I don’t tend to read books for children anymore but after reading a few too many books that have left me in tears I asked my friend for a happy book and this is the recommendation that I got. Happy book? I was crying three pages into the story, but I’ve decided I am a huge sap so that’s why I was crying. This book is amazing! I keep recommending it and talking about it, I just won’t stop. It’s a children’s book yes but it has the perfect balance that I feel allows people of all ages to read it, sort of like a pantomime. It is a heartwarming tale that at first I thought was going to be based solely about a cat but really it’s about family, friendship and love.

The start of this amazing book is told from  a young boy Michael’s perspective when he receives a letter from his travelling grandmother. In this letter she includes entries in her diary from when she was a young girl and from there we are thrust into her young world during the second wold war and her adventures with her cat Tips.

I was genuinely surprised by how much I loved this book, I thought it was going to be just another silly children’s book about an animal. I was so wrong! I will say this isn’t a book for young children mainly the ones journeying into teen life as there are some harsh topics in it such as Death.  Although, there really is something for everyone in there and it left me really happy with the ending but  leaving me wanting more which is the perfect ending to any book.

I think Michael Morpurgo is a brilliant children’s author, I’m pretty sure he was Children’s Laureate for a while as well and if I see any of his other books I will definetly read them.

Leave a Reply

