Vanish by Sophie Jordan- Book Review

vanish

 Amazon     Goodreads 

Recommendation Level 3.5/5

Book Hangover Level– 4/6

This book is the second in the Firelight series so if you haven’t the first book Firelight (which is amazing!) then there are spoilers in the books description  which I have put at the bottom of this post under my review as that spoiler free.

***********************************

Pages– 294

How I read it- Paperback, Bought

Published- September 6th 2011

Publisher- Harper Teen

**********************************

Non-Spoiler Review

If you have been reading this blog then you know I love dragons! They are amazing and anything remotely related  to them I immediately have to read (same as mermaids) and since this series is centered around the descendants of dragons I had to read them! I absolutely loved the first book in this series and therefore couldn’t wait to read the second so when I finally found the second book in the bookshop I immediately got it.

The first half of this book was very slow and I will admit the main character Jacinda was getting of my nerves- she was kick-ass in the first book and  was quite mary-sue in this one. I was actually getting to the point that I was ready to put the book down and call it quits but I kept reading for her sister Tamra (I would have actually liked this book to be in her p.o.v she really came through in this book for me, she is an amazing character that deserves much more credit!)

The second half of this book really got back into the storyline after the slow start. I went from forcing myself to turn the page to having to watch myself in case I ripped my book (gasp…getting shudders just thinking about it) Jacinda started to be the awesome person we all know she is in the second half, the plotline really kicked in and I am really glad I continued reading. After reading this book I have come up with a rule for myself- never get to hyped about the next book in a series.  I think I was to invested in this book before it even began and gave myself to high an expectation. That’s the second book this year I’ve done that to myself and I will do everything I can for there not to be a third time.

Overall there’s enough good in this book that I will be reading on in the series and although there are annoying points I do recommend it as a quick read, either when you are traveling or don’t have a lot of time to read but still want to anyway.

**********************************

Book Description

To save the life of the boy she loves, Jacinda did the unthinkable: She betrayed the most closely-guarded secret of her kind. Now she must return to the protection of her pride knowing she might never see Will again—and worse, that because his mind has been shaded, Will’s memories of that fateful night and why she had to flee are gone.

Back home, Jacinda is greeted with hostility and must work to prove her loyalty for both her sake and her family’s. Among the few who will even talk to her are Cassian, the pride’s heir apparent who has always wanted her, and her sister, Tamra, who has been forever changed by a twist of fate. Jacinda knows that she should forget Will and move on—that if he managed to remember and keep his promise to find her, it would only endanger them both. Yet she clings to the hope that someday they will be together again. When the chance arrives to follow her heart, will she risk everything for love. (as seen on goodreads)

One thought on “Vanish by Sophie Jordan- Book Review

Leave a Reply

