September Books

 

 

Sept Books

Yes it is not quite September yet and I know I have not done this in a while on this blog but here are the books I am going to be reading this September.

How do I have them? I own all of them because I bought them all today, I know, I know but I just can’t help myself when I see a good book and today I saw 7. This is what happens when I go into a bookstore alone.

Where did I get them? I bought 4 books from Waterstones where I got a lovely bag for free because I bought a Rainbow Rowell Hardcover. I also got 3 from The Works (which I have just discovered! How did I not know about this place before?) If you are in the UK and love books check this place out! It’s great for deals

image (5)

The Books

The Returned by Jason Mott (published 2014)- Lucille Hargrave’s son Jacob has been dead for over forty years. Now he’s standing on her doorstep, still eight years old. Looking for her to welcome him home with open arms. This is the beginning of the Returned. This is a new world where nothing- not even death- is certain. I am really looking forward to reading this one, it is not something that I normally read and it is well outside my comfort-zone but I watched a french TV show with the same title and similar plot that I loved and I feel like I will love this book as well.

Prince of Shadows by Rachel Caine (published 2014)- In the Houses of Montague and Capulet, there is only one goal: power. The boys are born to fight and die for honor and—if they survive—marry for influence and money, not love. The girls are assets, to be spent wisely. Their wishes are of no import. Their fates are written on the day they are born.
Benvolio Montague, cousin to Romeo, knows all this. He expects to die for his cousin, for his house, but a spark of rebellion still lives inside him. At night, he is the Prince of Shadows, the greatest thief in Verona—and he risks all as he steals from House Capulet. In doing so, he sets eyes on convent-bound Rosaline, and a terrible curse begins that will claim the lives of many in Verona……And will rewrite all their fates, forever. This one was an impulse buy, I think it will be interesting to read a separate story-line from Shakespeare’s Romeo & Juliet. I always love to read about other characters in books that are not the main ones. So yeah, looks like a good read.

Lullaby by Amanda Hocking (published 2012)- I won’t post this books description here as it is the second book in the Watersong series and gives away large spoilers for those who haven’t read the first but what I will tell you is that it is about Sirens and a curse. I love any book about mermaids/sirens so I love this series and can’t wait to read this book!

,Hades by Alexandra Adornetto (published 2011)- Is love a great enough power against evil? That’s all I can post from this books description as once again it is the second book in a series. this one being the Halo series. I have been looking for this book for a long time (physical copy) and today was the first time I found it so I instantly bought it. I am very excited to read this book about Angels and love, I cannot recommend the first book enough and really hope this lives up to my expectations.

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini (published 2011)- When shy; awkward Helen Hamilton meets Lucas Delos for the first time, she thinks two things: the first, that he is the most ridiculously beautiful boy she has seen in her life; the second, that she wants to kill him with her bare hands. An ancient curse means Lucas and Helen are destined to loathe one another. But sometimes love is stronger than hate, and not even the gods themselves can prevent what will happen next… Who doesn’t love ancient curses? I can’t wait to read this one, it looks really interesting and a fun afternoon read.

Vanish by Sophie Jordan (published 2011)- “I remember Will’s promise: ‘It’s not over. I’ll find you…’ Then it dawns on me. He won’t know what happened. He’ll think I left. Vanished” Again, this is the second book in a series this one is part of the  Firelight novels. That is all I can post without you all getting spoilers for the first book. I stumbled across the first book in this series purely by accident and I honestly cannot tell you all how great this one was, it centers on Jacinda a Draki (a race of people that can turn into Dragons) and it will hook you from the minute you start reading it so hopefully the second book does the same.

Landline by Rainbow Rowell (published 2014)- Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems beside the point now.Maybe that was always beside the point. Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.
When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything. That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .Is that what she’s supposed to do?
Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened? This will be my third book this summer that I have read by Rainbow Rowell, she has quickly become one of my all time favourite authors. When I saw this book I just couldn’t resist and had to get it, I know any book by Rowell will be amazing and will not disappoint.

 

 

5 thoughts on “September Books

  1. I related to it a lot as well! Eleanor & Park is the only other Rainbow Rowell Book I have read, I hope you enjoy it, I thought it was a great read and Rowell is a brilliant author. I cannot wait to read Landline

Leave a Reply

